Listen: Jamie T covers ‘that’ Meghan Trainor song

I’m sure you’ve all heard it, sang along to it, hated it and got completely sick of it (in that exact order), but there’s no denying Meghan Trainor’s ‘All about that bass’ definitely caused a stir in 2014.

So, when I heard Jamie T (yes, I’m writing about him again, can’t help myself!) was going to attempt his own cover of AATB in BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge, it’s safe to say I was less than thrilled. However, Wimbledon born Jamie Treays has more than exceeded my expectations, and I must admit I have found myself listening to this track on repeat everyday this week.

I’m not sure if it’s his compelling cockney accent or the excellent ska-style band that gives this cover such appeal, all I know is it’s most definitely not the skinny-shaming lyrics…even if there is something slightly amusing hearing Jamie sing ‘I can shake it, shake it, like I’m supposed to do.’ – I’m sure you can Jamie T, I’m sure you can.

Petition for video evidence anybody?

I may be bias, but is there anything Jamie T can’t do? I know it should be so wrong, but that’s what makes this cover so right.

Watch Jamie T’s cover of ‘Meghan Trainor – All About That Bass’ below:

 

Jamie T’s ‘Magnolia Melancholia’ EP is out 6th April on Virgin EMI.

Leave a Reply

