PRCA Speed Dating Networking Event

This year I celebrated valentines day in a slightly un-conventional way, by attending PRCA’s speed dating networking event. The event, which was held in Manchester’s swanky Pen&Pencil bar, allowed the attendees to speak to managing directors from the North Wests’ leading PR and Marketing agencies, gaining valuable industry insight and acting as an opportunity to introduce themselves to potential employers.

The dating panel:

– Heather Blundell, managing director, Weber Shandwick Manchester
– Graeme Anthony, GM and co-creator, MancFrank
– Libby Howard, managing director, Intelligent Conversation
– Jen Higgins, managing director, Carousel PR
– Jessica Wilkinson, founder, Petal&Co
– Josh Wheeler, General Manager, Markettiers

I feel as though the insight I gained from the ‘dates’ helped me to understand exactly what employers are looking for within the PR industry, and also gave me the opportunity to speak to like-minded PR students and new graduates, an aspect I particularly enjoyed. It also taught me how different agencies and different managing directors work, as the advice given varied greatly from date to date.

For me, the highlight of the event was speaking to Jen Higgins, managing director of Carousel, about her festival and event PR, as this is a side of PR I am interested in. Through speaking to her about my aspirations in the PR industry,  I managed to secure a one month paid placement for May 2017-June 2017.

I would like to thank PRCA for the opportunity to attend such an inspirational event, and all the ‘dates’ for their helpful advice!

Leave a Reply

